Cartwright-Roblin Municipal Council

Cartwright – Roblin Municipality (CRM) is a rural municipality in the Canadian province of Manitoba that incorporated on January 1, 2015 via the amalgamation of the RM of Roblin and the Village of Cartwright. It was formed as a requirement of The Municipal Amalgamations Act, which required that municipalities with a population less than 1,000 amalgamate with one or more neighbouring municipalities by 2015. The Government of Manitoba initiated these amalgamations in order for municipalities to meet the 1997 minimum population requirement of 1,000 to incorporate a municipality.

Cartwright-Roblin Municipality Council meeting dates are subject to change or cancellation as deemed necessary by Council. 

If you wish to attend a council meeting, please contact the office to make arrangements.


Council consists of one Head of Council (HOC), 2 councilors from the urban ward (former Village of Cartwright), and three councilors from the rural ward (former Rural Municipality of Roblin). Currently, council consists of:

Head of Council: Jamie Dousselaere
Rural: Jolene McDonald, Chris Hildebrand, and Shayne Kinley
Urban: Brent Pawich, Rob Sveinson

(left to right: Rob Sveinson, Brent Pawich, Jolene McDonald, Jamie Dousselaere, Chris Hildebrand, Shayne Kinley) 

Annually Council appoints members to be liaisons for local and regional committees and below are the current appointments: 

Local and Regional Committees/ Boards:

23 West Planning District - J Dousselaere, S Kinley

Killarney-Turtle Mountain Vet - J McDonald

Pembina Valley Vet - J McDonald

Cartwright Centennial Auditorium - J Dousselaere

Cartwright Curling Club Inc. - C Hildebrand, J Dousselaere

Cemeteries (Cartwright & Mather) - C Hildebrand

Cartwright Roblin Recreation Commission - B Pawich

Cartwright Roblin Volunteer Fire Dept - B Pawich

Lakeland Regional Library - J McDonald

Mac Robinson Community Centre (Skating) - C Hildebrand, J Dousselaere

Mather Hall - C Hildebrand

Mather Rink - B Pawich

Pembina Valley Conservation (Crystal Cypress) - S Kinley

Pembina Valley Conservation (Badger Creek) - S Kinley

Roblin Cartwright Community Development Corp - J McDonald

Senior Services of CMR-Handi-van (CRM is parent) - R Sveinson

South West Rock Lake Resort Association (Rock Lake Cottagers Assoc)- C Hildebrand

Tri-Lakes Develop Group (Pelican/Rock/ Swan) - S Kinley 

Pelican Lake Advisory – awaiting assignment

Rock Lake Advisory – awaiting assignment


Other Appointments of Council

Poundkeepers (large animals) -    Mark Taylor/ Randy Pawich/ Robert Drewry/ Blake Marchant

Poundkeepers (small animals) -   Vacant (defaults to vet clinic)

Rural Area Reps -

Range 13 - awaiting assignment

Range 14 - awaiting assignment

Range 15 - awaiting assignment

LUD of Mather - awaiting assignment

Building Inspector/ Development Officer - Per 23 West Planning appointment (Kevin Cameron)

Cartwright Roblin Municipal Emergency Coordinator - Vacant (defaults to municipal staff)

Cartwright Roblin Volunteer Fire – Chief - Laurence Klassen

Cartwright Roblin Volunteer Fire - Deputy Chief - Gerry Dousselaere